Order of Leopold

The Order of Leopold is one of the three (formerly five) national Belgian Orders, besides the Order of the Crown and the Order of Leopold II. This Order is the most important and highest Belgian distinction. The members of the Order of Leopold are also united in the Association of the Order of Leopold.

The Order of Leopold is the first and oldest Belgian Order. It was introduced in 1832 by Leopold I, King of the Belgians, as an order of merit and dynastic order.